How to Thank This Veteran

Transmission Issue

To All,

I am a veteran. The details of my military service are unimportant. I am but one of millions of veterans, no more worthy of your thanks than any of the rest. As for me, I would prefer that you not thank me for my military service, not even on this hallowed day.

I saw my duty, my path was clear, I volunteered. That was long ago, but even today I am a better person for my military service. But a "thank you" is unnecessary. I don't expect nor will I accept thanks for my military service. My military service was, after all, a duty -- a near sacred duty.

Instead of thanks, I would ask that you make America better.

Find a nearby elderly widow and mow her lawn during the summer, rake the fallen leaves in the fall and shovel her sidewalk during the winter. Don't ask, just do it. She needs your help, but she is too proud to ask.

Be active in your community. Volunteer to help run a cub/boy/brownie/girl scout pack or troop.

Find a nearby fire department and volunteer. If being a fireman is too rigorous, join the fire police. You must give back to your community. Without your involvement, it won't be a community, it will be merely a collection of structures.

Mentor a young person. There is little in life more rewarding, and your work will live beyond you.

Take an active part in the affairs of your community. There is always a way to get involved.

Be a good wife/husband/parent/son/daughter -- person. In the end, money, homes and toys won't matter. Only relationships and your good reputation will matter.

Donate your old books to a nearby VA hospital. Those elderly vets are starving for reading material.

Visit a nursing home and chat with the residents. Loneliness is epidemic in those places. You are a cure.