AGR or rebuilt stock steering box?

GaryMB

RE: well then...

The original steering box in my cj7 has seen better days (It leaks, has loose steering, the rubber boot at the input looks to have broken long ago, etc.). Should I rebuild it, or should i buy an aftermarket steering box? What about AGR power steering boxes? Also, why is the type one agr box for offroad use only? The jeep is primarily a wheeler and has 32" tires, but will see either 33's or (possibly) 35's in the future.

RE: Stalling 258

I have no first hand experience, but I have read about it for future purposes and it seems like the stock will fail you much more frequently than the AGR with the bigger tires. By the way, the boot is part of the steering shaft and can be replaced easily once you have the shaft out. Mine was the same way and I replaced it before I put the shaft back in. I think the kit was about 5 bucks.

There are 2 kinds of steering boxes that AGR makes for the wrangler, Super Box 1 and Super Box 2. The Super Box 1 is designed for offroad use only, the Super Box 2 has a firmer valving and a different gearing that makes it handle better driving on the highway.

I have the Super Box 1 on mine, and it's a daily driver... the only reason I have it because Quadratec sent me the wrong one which I didn't find out until it was installed. I've gotten used to it now though, and it's got alot more turning power! I don't know how much it costs to rebuild a stock box, but Quadratec doesn't even sell them because they are more expensive than the AGR and who is NOT going to upgrade for MORE money?

If you are going to get bigger meats on there, you might as well do it right the first time and put the AGR box on there now. The 35s will make that stock box go downhill fast.

Joop

Welding D30