Everyday driver and moderate off road

NewSport

RE: Complete 304 or 360 AMC engine

Hello guys and gals,

I am a rookie. I have bought a 97 Wrangler Sport 6cyl auto.

I am trying to figure out how to lift the jeep a bit to allow for better clearance but still stay stable.

I am also looking for the best tire suspension configuration for winter driving...

I am sure you people get sick of us newbies...but any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

NewSport said:
I am sure you people get sick of us newbies...but any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

Quite the contrary, NewSport!! We're always glad to have new members, and no question gets asked or answered too many times. Quite often, in answering a question that has been asked several times, someone will throw in a tidbit of info that wasn't previously noted, making it a learning experience for everyone. Welcome to the "Z", the best Jeep message board you're bound to find. We're a good, friendly, helpful family here, and we're glad to have you aboard!

As for your questions, I'm not the one to answer them the best, but there are many, many experts here that can. Tires? Sure, I can give you my opinion on those, but it also depends on how and where you plan to drive and play. I run Mud King mudders, 31x10.50 on 15x7 Cragar "Soft Eights". For my style of driving and the area I live in, they are pretty much the best for me. Many people prefer mud tires over all-terrains if they do any off-roading at all. I've never liked AT's at all, just don't give me the traction I need, both on pavement and off road. The mud tires handle better on dry, wet, icy, snowy, sandy roads for my driving style. The Mud Kings are surprisingly quiet, although I think they're wearing faster than the Kumho's I used to run on my old Toy PU. The few times I've actually had to crawl over stuff (mostly logs and people on bicycles), the MT's were much better than AT's, even when not aired down.