258 swap

NCjeeper

im putting an 1983 258 in my 75 cj. the original motor threw a rod. i'm not too mechanically inclined, and i havent ever done any major projects on my own. to be totally honest, i dont really know what i'm doing. today, i pulled off the grill assembly and radiator on the front and unhooked all the hoses and wiring. quite honestly, i was proud that i figured that out myself. i got to looking at it and noticed there were only 7 bolts holding the assembly in place.

basically, i'm 21 and im new at being able to upgrade my vehicles as i please. im trying to learn as fast as i can, and i must say, you guys are a tremendous help.

what should i replace before putting in the new motor? i knew i should replace the header gasket, rear main seal, and i guess ill get a new clutch since i have no clue how the old one is. (i bought the jeep after the motor had blown)

what else should i do/prepare for?

If you got extra $$ replace all the normal stuff. (cap/rotor/plugs/wires/thermostat/oil/filter/fuel filter/ and the clutch is a good idea to)

yjdave said:
If you got extra $$ replace all the normal stuff. (cap/rotor/plugs/wires/thermostat/oil/filter/fuel filter/ and the clutch is a good idea to)

:agree: ........and hoses, too.

NCjeeper said:
..........i'm not too mechanically inclined, and i havent ever done any major projects on my own. to be totally honest, i dont really know what i'm doing............