Looking to buy a Jeep - Please help me out!

Cyberfire

Hello Jeep owners...I've got some questions for you.

I'm looking to buy a Jeep, as a daily driver (about 50-60 mi a week) and as a weekend offroad vehicle, capable of handling most of what my local offroad park can dish out (Hollister Offroad park). Whether I get one stock or already somewhat modified, I'd probably add a few things down the road as I learned more about the sport, and the car.

My background is from the sport compact world, which is pretty different from offroad.

Now, I've been offroading with a friend in his Toyota Tocoma a few times, and that vehicle is extremely capable off road. I was wondering if the Jeep is comparable in offroad performance.

Now for the questions:

Are there any major reliability issues I should know about that are pretty common among the TJ model's?

How about safety? Anyone ever get into a crash with one of these things? I've read consumer reports, doesn't give much info. I don't plan on any major collisions, but it would be nice to know I'd survive one.

What are the biggest things I should look for when buying used?

What about the mileage on the V6 engines? How much is too much? I see anywhere from 60K to 150K, how strong do these motors run?

Now I am very much a DIY'er, so how easy are these vehicles to work on? Parts cost and availability?

And any other info you might want to throw in to help out a potential new jeep owner out would be great, thanks!

For your first question I have not seen any major reliabilty issues. My TJ is a daily driver and there are no problems there.
I haven't wrecked yet (don't plan on it.... Famous last words) but they are alot tougher than most cars you'll hit.
Biggest issue would be Frame rust. you can replace everything for a TJ but you just need a good platform. By the way you can replace the frame too.
TJs (97-06) come with a straight 6 the newer JKs(2007) come with the V-6, I've heard they are almost bullet proof.