Old guy needs some help.

eaw46

Hi guys a new member here and I am looking for some advice. I apologize in advance for the long thread but it is necessary so you know where I am coming from. I am an old guy with a fair amount of experience in off road. I have owned lots of old CJs and right now have a 96 H1 and a 62 Mog 404 and a 71 Jeepster commando S/C and play a fair bit. I have no knowledge of the YJ or TJ however and need to buy one as I am looking for a Jeep to tow behind a Motor home. I need one of the newer ones as my wife will be driving it as well as me. It has to have A/T/C and auto as she will not drive one without. I need it to be towable 4 wheels down and I am hoping it will be fairly capable as I wish to enjoy it too. So can I pick the brain power here and get some advice as to what to get? I really do not wish to spend a whole bunch as i already have a enough tied up in 4X4s and this will only be used when we are on the road. .Thanks Eddy

Sounds like a YJ with a 4.0 and automatic would be perfect. I'm picturing gold Sahara version for some reason.

HI I am not in the Know about YJ or TJ. What are the advantages disadvantages of the models? I have seen some used TJs for about $10K and I like the look of the TJ rather than the YJ. Is the YJ better or the TJ?? Eddy

... Is the YJ better or the TJ?? Eddy

You can start a Jeep war with that question. :lol: Since your wife will be driving it I would suggest a TJ. You'll be able to find a used TJ in better shape than a YJ but for only a few dollars more. The TJ has a newer "car like" interior, smoother ride and in stock form is more than capable as a tow behind and off road toy. The YJ would be fine too but it is a little rougher in ride and in interior appearance. Some people prefer this but again, since it's for your wife... And with a YJ, you'll probably end up spending more on maintenance and general upkeep.

Good luck with your search and welcome to Jeepz.