84 258 w/ Weber: Blow-by?

cairo10

Hey,
I am re-entering the CJ phase after not having one for close to 10 years - every spring I sulked over selling my 76 CJ7. Finally, we purchased a CJ7 (84) this summer. It has a terrific ride!

Bought it knowing that I'd have engine fun coming. The engine has considerable blow-by. I'm new to the 258 & its quirks. I love the "stoutness" of the 4.0 in my previous Cherokees, so I look forward to working on this earlier model straight six.

I welcome hints or ideas for dealing with the Weber Carb. I'm not yet sure which one it is. However, I have a few emission tubes that sit in the engine bay ... I assume from the original carb. I think one leads to the exhaust manifold & the other is a return from the catalytic converter ... actually it just came off at the CC and I pulled it out.

I'm going to try to post a few pics of the hoses.

I've been told that the Weber really needs to breathe and that the vacuum leak could cause the blow-by. Does this seem to be the case here? Originally, I planned an engine rebuild because I thought the blow-by was an internal issue.

Any ideas? Thanks.
Byron

Attachments

• IMG_0527.JPG
    IMG_0527.JPG
    2 MB · Views: 967

uhh, you should have a PCV valve going from one of the ports on the top of the valve cover, and either a breather valve or a hose running to the air cleaner (for air being sucked INTO the crankcase). Almost looks like the back port is plugged on your valve cover.

uhh, you should have a PCV valve going from one of the ports on the top of the valve cover, and either a breather valve or a hose running to the air cleaner (for air being sucked INTO the crankcase). Almost looks like the back port is plugged on your valve cover.

:agree: On my 258, there's a little breather on the rear hole, and the front hole has an elbow that goes straight into the manifold vacuum port (below the carb). I have a motorcraft 2100 and it's been nuttered, so that may make a difference.

Hey,