Sheared my axle in half! Need help with repair (and how to drive better!)

rissacher

2005 Wrangler X (TJ) with LSD. 4" Superlift with 33s.
Last night I heard a pop and when I got out and looked the right rear wheel was sticking out farther than it should. I jacked it up and gave the little pull on the wheel and it came right off with an axle attached. The other end is sheared off... like if you took a piece of taffy and twisted it a couple times until it broke.

First question is repair... Looks like there are a lot of axles that I can buy. Any reccomendations? Will some of the ones that advertise themselves as being stronger really hold up better than the stock axle? Should I replace both rear axles while I'm at it? Do I need to inspect anything else for dammage (front axles? transfers?). I'm no mechanic... so please be specific and talk dumb to me! Is this something I should even be doing myself? Has anyone seen good repair instructions out there, or should I just go buy a Chilton manual?

The second question is whether this is going to happen again. Is this pretty common in with my setup? How do I ensure this doesn't happen while driving on the interstate? Is it likely from long-term wear or did it just happen last night (I will admit I probably wasn't treating her very nice... driving aggressively in 8 inches of snow with 4WD, fishtailing... even I hate to admit using the e-brake to skid). Not only do I not relish a wheel flying off at 70mph, but I don't know how I'll convince my wife to let me drive the family around anymore!
thanks,
Dan

Sounds like you broke the C-clip.Go to Stu Olson'sweb page, look under axles there's a write up on axle removel.

First off, welcome the Z.