Pushing 33x12.5x15 with out changing gears

Dittrich31

Hello my name is Pete and I am relatively new to the jeep scene. I have a 2.5l 95 rio grande with 2inch leafs and two 1 inch shackles. Right now im running 31x10.5x15 bfg AT's and would like to move up to the 33's. Is there anything else I could do to push these tires besides doing an expensive gear change.

my brother in law did that to his jeep long time ago, didnt break any parts, but it was defenatly noticeable on the hwy, couldnt use 5th gear anymore, but 4x4ed good

Your gears should be ok it is the engine that will have the problem.From some of the other post you should have 4:11 gears but the 2.5l is going to have some issues with the tires.

it will bog down only really on the hwy, when offroading you'd ahve to use 4 low, 1st, 2nd, and 3rd are all your gonna get, ya, all 4 cylinders come with 4.10s, 4.11s

too much wheel speed with sudden traction, can say goodbye to the axels in the dana 30, but just take it easy and it will work

Welcome to the Z. There are engine mods you can do to the 4banger, but none will be near as effective as regearing the axles. Consider an electric fan to replace the mechanical, a cold-air intake system, and a 62mm throttle body.

a, all 4 cylinders come with 4.10s, 4.11s
Only if it's a 5spd, the 2.5L auto has 3.73 gears.

Although it is doable, i would not advise it; on the highway, 5th gear will be none existing, and taking of from a complete stop will take forever to get moving to a decent speed... I would regear to 4.88 to do it (I am currently running 31's with 4.88 gears)

Learn to shift a lot ! Forget 5th gear on the interstate except for thrilling 60 MPH down hill thrill rides. The 2.5 is almighty on the trail in 2 and 3 low, but you might get to meet the almighty on the interstate ! There is I believe only one gear change, the 4.88's.