need some help with a lift

guitarist791

i am new to jeeps. i got a used 2001 sahara in january with a 4in suspension lift on it. i have a couple questions to asked that may make me resemble a retard but here we go.

do shocks raised your car or when they said 2in does that mean you have to have that much of a lift to put it in there?

can you add more than one body lift like say i bought 2 3in body lifts, can i install both for 6in?

I didnt understand the first question.As far as the body lift,please dont use two 3" lifts.It would put so much stress on the bolts that the first time you hit the brakes hard the bolts may snap and send the body of the Jeep flying threw the air.Most people do not recommend going any more than a 1" body lift because of the added stress on the bolts.There are some that have gone up to 3" and say they never had a problem.As far as me my life over the extra 2" I will pcik my life..1" at most for me.

Welcome to the Z!!!:welcome:

Plus, if you pt a 6 inch body lift. It would look Awful!!!! Major frame to body gab and just plain dangerous. Like Tony said, go with a 1" BL. Shocks are more less what keeps the ride smooth and not bouncing all over the place. They dampen the up and down movment of the suspension. the springs, either it be coils or leafs, are what gives you the lift.

I would never recommend going over 1'' of body lift. I have some friends who have up to 3'' of body lift and they have had no problem. I just feel more safe with suspension.

can you add more than one body lift like say i bought 2 3in body lifts, can i install both for 6in?

Yes, can I see pics when your done. I would be scared of a lot of illegal imigrants and wayward hobo's living in the gap between teh frame and body though.

JK

Just haing some fun with you.