Jumping out of 2nd Gear

rserpas

I just purchased a 79 cj7. Did not get to drive before I bought it. Just up and down a driveway. When I got it home and drove it noticed that when shifting into 2nd gear it jumps out of gear. No other problems with any other gear. It goes into 2nd smoothly but jumps out after about a second. Also sterring is very slow to react. have to overcomensate while steering. I am not very experienced with working on vehicles but want to learn. Any ideas please share? Thanks

If stock, you should have either a T150 or T18. The T150 is a 3 speed, T18 4 speed with 1st as a granny gear. Jumping out of gear could be a host of things; the gear set up on the main shaft could have too much end play, the torque stud (at the transmission mount) is missing or loose, or the motor mounts are sloppy or the transmission may just have some gear or bearing wear from age. There are other reasons too but none of these issues are terminal.

Let's start with the easy ones; torque stud, do you have one? What is the condition of your motor mounts?

Last edited:
The 2nd gear popping out could be a bad syncro or synchro sleeve thats not letting the 2nd gear collar slide in all the way.
Edit: There's also a possibility that the fork is also bent.

Last edited:
Motor mounts are ok. What and where exactly is a torque stud? Sorry learning as I go here. Also I have a t150

The torque stud attaches to a metal plate at the side of the transmission mount above the skid plate. It goes up and down and limits the amount of play (twist) in the transmission mount from the” torque” of the engine. It is a metal stud with two rubber bushings about the size of a fat quarter or so. I’m not on my computer at the moment so I don’t have a picture to send you. Will try later.