Welding facts

1983CJ7

My CJ7 is in need of alot of small time welding, and I am thinking of learning how to do this. I have heard that a good ARC welder is a good start, and that I should not go on the cheap for it. Any insight on a brand, and is buy one used a good idea? I also need to learn how to weld - is it hard to teach yourself or should I look for help?
thanks!

Can't go wrong with a Lincoln Mig welder

By ARC welder I would assume you mean a buzz box for stick welding. This would be way too heavy for any sheetmetal work. For light welding like sheetmetal repair you might want to use MIG or even TIG welding. I have used a Hobart Handler MIG welder that plugged into 120V and worked pretty well for light work (though I'm not very good at welding:p). I think they sell a couple of different rated "Handler" units for 300-500 dollars. As far as learning to weld I'd recommend getting some instruction from a friend or even a night class - it will be well worth your time. Welding takes a lot of practice so find some scrap metal before going at the Jeep. NEVER weld inside a wood framed building or around flammable materials. When you're done and pack up for the night you might have a fire due to smoldering sparks you didn't see. Best of luck - John

Buying a used welder is like any other used purchase, buyer beware. Unless you know how to test a welder out, and what to look for you are at the mercy of the seller. I have purchased most of my welders used but only after trying them out prior to purchasing.

Definitely take some formal courses on welding. Long ago I thought I really knew how to weld good, I was self taught. One of my former employers sent me to school to learn how to TIG. It was there I realized my welding was not very god and my diagnostic skills sucked. Eventually I took all of the welding courses they had and I can honestly say my early welding was a hack job.