Help!!

cj7 princess

Hi everyone,
Think your all great for helping eachother! maybe someone can help me? I got my first jeep in February 2009 (1985 cj7 258 5spd, 33" tires etc..) anyway I spent the last 6 months restoring it, body work and all. Needless to say I am now about to claim bankruptcy;) but I finally have it so it will start and run, but then at @ 50 cuts out and dies! I noticed the engine was all over the place when idiling so I replaced the OEM distributor with an HEI, doing away with all the computer crap hoping it was an electrical issue. havn't started it yet but, while I was installing it I noticed these cracks on the headers? manifold? I have no idea what I need to do, I have been told a few VERY different things... get new intake manifold, it's the engine mounts, engine rebuild I can say if it is the engine I better get some running shoes! I sold my Ninja to pay for parts so it is my "daily driver" or atleast it will be if I can fix it:)
I am new to TX so I don't know anyone here... anyhelp is much appreciated, I have TONS of pics so if you need more info let me know
Thanks all,
Trinnie

Attachments

• both cracks.JPG
    both cracks.JPG
    71.1 KB · Views: 73

I believe those cracks to be superficial but I would have it check any way.

Last edited:
Some Header's have a cut there that's a releif for heat expansions. Some are a solid flange but is more likely to warp and is more difficult to seal. I would look at the way it run's from top to bottom and see if it's a clean cut or jagged edged. this will indicate if thats a crack or a releif..

here is a couple pics can you give me any clue as to what I am in for?

Attachments

• cracks-engine.JPG
    cracks-engine.JPG
    18.4 KB · Views: 130
  • pool of anti freze.JPG
    pool of anti freze.JPG
    34.1 KB · Views: 149

That looks like a crack. If it's not leaking on the exaust , i wouldn't worry about it.