upgrading from 2.5l to 4.ol wiring

espyking83

i am wanting to swap in a 6 cyl and a ax 15 to my 92 wrangler.

i got a hell of a good price for labor to drop in another 4 cyl but the mechanic said he didnt want to do the wiring if i upgrade to a 6 cyl.is it really that difficult?is there some type of adapter that i can buy and use it with my 4 cyl harness?

another thing,i get mixed responses when i ask if i have to upgrade my drive shafts or axles when i step up to a 6,can anyone give me a definite answer on this?

and yes -i am a newb.

It's going to take more than just a wiring upgrade if your dropping in a 4.0 I6 that's fuel injected. A PCM will also be required. Also, if your going to an I6, i would recommend you also upgrade from an AX15 trans.

I dont think it is worth the trouble to replace the 2.5 with the 4.0; might as well go V6, as it will be easier, and there are wiring harneses already available...

I dont think it is worth the trouble to replace the 2.5 with the 4.0; might as well go V6, as it will be easier, and there are wiring harneses already available...

so if i just go with a v6 i will only have to purchase a wiring harness and thats it?

now that i think about it i may just go ahead and get another 2.5 dropped in.i dont really need all the power being that i don t really take my jeep into anything to thick,my little 4 banger does just fine.

is the ax -15 transmission compatible with the 2.5l?just in case i decide to upgrade some time in the near future.