kc windshield hinge light mounts

goldtj

i have a 2003 jeep tj,and asked santa for some kc daylighters and windshield hinge mounting brackets.my wishes came true,and now i have them!mounted them today,while freezing my tail off!holding out for better weather for wiring,no problem-i'm a pro at that!my question is-what is the coolest,trickest way to pass the wires through?i loosened up the cowl trim,and temporarily ran them through the crack,but it looks like dook,and that's not how i roll!anybody have any secrets to divulge?the metal shrouding is only so long,and doesn't hit any part other than immediately below the windshield!

Interested in this myself... got some SlimLites to mount, haven't decided if I'm going windshield or bumper. Santa brought me a bumper hoop for mounting, but it's a 3 light rig and I've only got two lights.

I just folded the windshield forward and ran the wires in between the rubber seal beside the hinge. I cut the wire loom to stop at the windshield. I'll try to get a pic some time soon to help you out!

I just folded the windshield forward and ran the wires in between the rubber seal beside the hinge. I cut the wire loom to stop at the windshield. I'll try to get a pic some time soon to help you out!

I did pretty much the same thing. Just 2 points to watch out for:

1. Make sure the cables go in from the side (otherwise, when driving in rain, water WILL find its way inside the cab!). Also use some silicone to all around the cable BEFORE you fold the windshield back up to make sure it seals properly and avoid leaks.
2. If you need to drill a hole (I did on the passanger side; I used the windshield wiper cable hole for the drivers side, but that is on a YJ), paint the hole to prevent rusting.

By the way, I ended up relocating mine because they interfered with my snorkel, but I REALLY liked them on the winshield mount (less glare on the hood than the current hood mounts, and they did not interfere much with my vision as they do now).