Carb upgrade..

absolutemoon

I just ordered a Motorcraft 2100 to replace the POS Carters on the CJ. (81 CJ7 258 Auto) Anyone had experiace in changing the carbs out? If so, is there anything I need to watch out for or that was difficult for you? This is my only means of transportation, and I am not a mechanic. Dont want to be left high and dry but the carters is starting to idle rough after long drive times.

Did the swap to my 81 cj7 manual 3 months ago. as long as u have the adapter plate and the person set up the carb right it will go smooth. It really woke up my 258 too. idles great and excellent accel. you'll be happy

I have a mc2100 on mine. It's a 1.08 with 48 jets, and it runs way too lean. My spark plugs are white.

I'll also say that getting the carb and its adaptor to seal perfectly is a pain. I've taken the carb off at least 8 times, re-sealed everything, cut new gaskets, and I still have a leak... just in a different spot. I'm thinking a Clifford intake would solve those problems.

If my Jeep didn't have the mc2100 on it when I got it, I would have kept the Carter until I saved up enough to buy a Clifford intake with a Holley or something.

MC2100 is the best thing i ever did to my 258! get the adapter plate, rebuild your mc2100 and install. I did a little linkage adaptation since the carter and the MC hook up differently.

you need to work the linkage a bit but it was easy to do. i just used a l bracket that was in the drawer to change the angle from rear pull to down pull and put a pivot pc on the end. everything worked the 1st time out so i say go for it and you'll never look back to the carter again.

Iwent with the Webber, easy replacement, everything came with the kit and it's basically set up except for a tweek on the idle screw

Stew