unknown transmission sound.

sdpd646jeeper

i have a 1990 yj with the 4.2, 5 speed. im new to the 4x4 world. I bought it for 5800 bucks with a new paint job and alot of work put into it. A few days ago i noticed that i had a weird sound coming from my transmission area. At first it started out as a whining or winding sound. it has slowly progressed and now has that same sound, a little louder, plus a ticking or clicking sound. the clicking sound is consistent with the rpms. its is also consistent as in it keeps a rythem. so i can tell that it has to be on something spinning constantly, it has about a half second interval to it. i thought first u-joints but i replaced those. thought second transmission fluid low, drained and refilled. i can rule out the transmission itself the best i can by saying that i cant feel it. It shifts fine, no slippage, and you cant feel it in the shifter knob. i have narrowed it to the t-case. possibly the bearing or even the drive chain. like i said im new to 4x4 world and need some veteran assistance.

thank you for your time and help 8)

sounds like it may be a throw out bearing going out

If you can feel it in the shifter, don't rule out a transmission bearing. It could be throwout bearing. It is tough to diagnose a noise over a forum.
Does pushing in the clutch make the sound change?
Pushing in the clutch and putting in gear while stopped (that will stop the transmission shaft from spinning)?
Transfer case in neutral?

Finding out what makes the noise change will help in narrowing down its cause.