Do I need to be concerned about this damage?

Jason4x4

Went wheelin' today at Green Ridge State Forest (trip report coming soon in my "builds" thread) - This is my first time wheelin' with the 4" lift and all the work I recently did to my TJ. I wanted to do a shakedown run at Green Ridge State Forest so I could work out any issues in the new suspension before I go on a big trip to Rausch Creek with Mt. Zion Offroad on the 2nd of January.

Anyway, all went well except that when we got to the trailhead I decided to disconnect the swaybar. This is the first time I've ever used my disco's. No problems getting them off and on, however once the swaybar was disconnected and I hit the trail, I started hearing nasty grinding noises. I hopped out and at first couldn't see anything wrong. Kept going and heard more carnage noises. I hopped out again suspecting a driveshaft rubbing on one of the skidplates. I quickly discovered that the U-joint on my front driveshaft was banging into my Rusty's engine/transmission skid when I would go over large bumps/rocks and the axle would droop to far. I got to the most level place I could find nearby and reconnected the swaybar and only heard the impact once or twice more the rest of the day - no problems on-road.

Bottom line is, I'm going to remove the Rusty's skid and cut a notch in it to eliminate this problem but I wanted to show you guys a couple pictures of the U-joint so you could tell me if I should be concerned about the damage to it - it's not bad, just chewed up a little around the edges. Is this something I should be concerned about and look into further? Or should I be ok?

Attachments

• SAM_0247.JPG
    SAM_0247.JPG
    1.9 MB · Views: 172
  • SAM_0248.JPG
    SAM_0248.JPG
    1.8 MB · Views: 161
  • SAM_0249.JPG
    SAM_0249.JPG
    1.9 MB · Views: 174
  • SAM_0250.JPG
    SAM_0250.JPG
    1.9 MB · Views: 156