1997 Jeep Wrangler Water Pump

Vintendo

'97 Jeep Wrangler - Coolant leaking behind water pump pulley, guess I gotta get in their and change it? I'm a newbie, never did one. I looked online for diagrams and instructions, haven't found much, actually found too much but can anyone reccomend a site that would walk me through it? Tips or tricks from you guys? Anything specific to my year? I've been browsing through the forums quite a bit, some of you fellas are masterful, any help would do. Thanks much

A water pump is a really easy and simple fix.
First thing you wanna do is loosen your top and bottom alternator bolts. This will allow you to move it and take off your belt.
Second you'll want to take the cap off your radiator for ventilation/draining.
Next, find the lowermost hose connected to the water pump. You can either drain the coolant out of here (slightly more messy, but quicker and easier), or you can drain about half, or all, out of the petcock on the bottom of the radiator on the passenger side. Either way works fine. Its really up to you.
Then, if you haven't already done so in the last step, remove the hoses.
After that you're free to remove the bolts from the water pump itself.
Make sure to scrape off all of the old gunk and gasket from where the old one came from. You want to get it as clean as possible.
Then u you use high temp silicone on both surfaces (engine block, and new water pump) you want a good solid bead without any breaks all of the way around. At this point what works best for me is putting the gasket on the water pump itself, and then carefully placing it in its spot. Hold it there without letting it move while you hand tighten the bolts.
Tighten the bolts back up with your socket wrench, and it installed.