Snorkel Performance

TeddESP

I have a 93 YJ and I've been reading up on how to get a little more power. I have a new flowmaster exhaust and I saw that air intakes help out. I was wondering how a snorkel did performance wise compared to the stock one. Would it be worth upgrading for other reasons other than the obvious? (That I can go through deeper water.) =]

http://www.freecarkits.com/jeepsnokel.htm
This has a pretty good explanation of not only how to make one yourself if, in fact, you decide to go through with it, but also towards the end of the page he has some downsides to having the snorkel as well as the long term effects of driving through deep water. Hope it helps. I wanted to do a snorkel kit too, but after reading this, I think I've changed my mind.

Well, don't try any deep water fording without a snorkel for your tailpipe. Had these on our M151's when I was in the service;

image-missing.png

The puzzling thing is the tops of these snorkels were about 12 inches over the driver's head.
The procedure for getting off LST's?
1. Push the foot throttle down about 1/3 to 1/2
2. Pull out the hand throttle matching main throttle cable extention
3. Stand on the door rail while holding your head above water, steering with your right hand.
...trouble was, more often than not, my Jeep found a hole in the beach approach ~glub Semper Fi glub~