Brake light problems

nutznky

A few weeks ago I was considering buying a 97 TJ with a 4 banger for my wife. I held off and found a steal on a 00 model with the 4.0 5 speed. The jeep only has 98,000 on it and runs like a top. The other morning I was driving it too work and my neighbor was behind me and at the end of the street flagged me down and said my brake lights were out. The third brake light is working and so is all the other lights, turn signals, parking lights, back up lights and so on. All the fuses are good. The only thing I can figure is the switch on the brake pedal. Anyone else had this problem and anything else I should check. I'm not good with electrical at all so I really don't have any other ideas. Thanks in advance.

Either both bulbs or a bad ground. Could have been neglected one went then the other. See it all the time.

Yes it's wired for a trailer. I also just noticed the hazards are not working either. Now I'm thinking it may be the turn signal switch.

Check your trailer wiring for corrosion. The one thing brakes and hazards have in common is direct battery feed. The turn signals are ignition.
If you can disconnect the trailer wiring try that. If its own then just check for corrosion. I would check for power in and out of the brake switch see if you are getting direct. Then check your grounds.

I have also read that the power for the brake lights runs through the multi function switch( or turn signal switch for us simple folk)lol. Is this not correct? Again when it comes to electrical im lost.

I can look at a schematic when I get to work tommorow for you. I'm not sure on that one but a wiring diagram is an easy answer.

I'd check the bulbs first. You said the third brake light is working, so the switch at the pedal should be ok. The turn signal uses the same filament as the brake light