Cold air intake

wml52

OK so here is my variation on the HUMVEE cold air intake theme. Now I just want to state that this mod was not an effort to fabricate a snorkel, but rather a way to get cooler air into the intake, although I suppose you could use it as a snorkel if you extended the intake tube. However I’ve been wheeling for many years and have never had to cross water so deep that I had to use a snorkel.

Most of the credit should go to Frank Steven Taldone a.k.a. “Kerndone” he has an excellent write up on this mod posted on JeepForum.Com Write-up for a Hummer cold air intake - JeepForum.com.

The major differences between Franks mod and mine was the use of the Spectra Performance intake kit p/n 9943 instead of the Buick air box and the way I chose to modify the HVAC intake cover underneath the cowl.

The reason I used the Spectra Performance kit was that I got a really good deal on it ($50.00) otherwise the Buick air box would work just fine. I also chose to modify the existing HVAC intake cover a little differently and chose to fabricate a custom intake duct instead of the method used in the write-up. The reason for this was, in looking at the photos of the HVAC intake cover he had to cut away and cover a large portion of the HVAC intake area to allow for the fitment of the 3” diameter hose that connects to the toilet flange. I thought this would significantly reduce the amount of air (cfm) flowing through the HVAC intake adversely affecting the HVAC system.