Death Wobble - Mechanic's Diag and Estimate

badazjeep

I'm new to the forum, and have been reading all about death wobble and bump steer. I have an 01' Wrangler with a 4" Skyjacker lift, & 33" BFG's. I've had the Jeep for 5 years, and never had this problem before. I'm not a mechanic by any means, but I "tinker", so I took the jeep in to the shop for a front end inspection. Here's what they said I needed:

-front track bar
-upper and lower ball joints
-tie rod at the pitman arm
-alignment, balance and rotation

All for a grand total of $1168! :shock:

I have a feeling they're trying to take me for a ride. Any advice would be much appreciated!

yeah, thats a ride, no question, those are all things that CAN give you death wobble, they saw a payday walk in the door and decided to fix it by fixing it all.

You own a Jeep, you should have some basic tools and a Harbor Freight within a hundred miles or so, so lets get you started down the road to mechanics shop independance, first let me ask, did you install the lift yourself? If so, then you have a fairly good idea whats under your Jeep, if not, time to go have a look, take some cardboard and lay under there and just look around and see how much you can identify and know what its purpose is. then refer to a couple diagrams, one from 4x4xplor -

alignment01-1.jpg

axlewheelassemblylabeled-1.jpg