4.0 Hesitation

Jeeper99

Anyone have a clue as to why my wrangler has a studder/hesitation when I first get in it and start to drive? I've heard a faint backfire through the throttle body. Once it clears out, it is fine the rest of the time I drive it. But if I park it for 10 minutes or longer, same thing happens when I first start to drive it??

Any pointers would be great!

Any diagnostic trouble codes? if not, try cleaning the t. body first and IAT.

i have a 99 sahara with exact same problem and im a tech at a gm store so i have some experiance but i have not been able to diagnois this but i did replace the tps and the crankshft pos sensor i also removed the throttle body and cleaned it nothing has improved when it sits for a few hours or overnite when you start driving it loses power no throttle responce bucking sounds like a lean backfire then suddenly it stops and wont do it again untill you shut it down for as little as hour or two at this point i dont know what to do next there is no check engine light and the tach never stopps working and it dont stall

Ok...just went through the exact same thing...i am picking my jeep up Wednesday from a great mechanic. Same symptoms as yours to the tee... This is what was explained to me...my fuel pump was only putting out 23psi and it should be in the 40s or more. Because of that the fuel injectors where getting crap built up in them and making them leak under pressure when you turn it off...if you let it sit long enough the gas will evaporate and it will start...i had him replace the fuel pump first then because it had more pressure the injectors leaked even more. So now he is replacing the injectors. It sucks and is expensive but maybe it will save you in paying for labor if you can do it yourself. Good luck