Jeep: The Two Pieces

Robert_Stephens

A Story, back in 1988, one Jeep before current ride, VEX, here on the site an profile.

VEX has about a gazillion mods done to it and there is a profound reason it weighs 3 tons and has 1 ton rated drivelines and 12,000 pound winches front and rear, and on and on and on. This is not because I am "cool" or trying to have the nastiest Jeep around, no, its because I am a ex-failure engineer for NASA and base all things on my screw ups that are never ceasing, which the following story will surely reveal shortly. I do what I do to avoid 'FAILURE'

So much for intentions.

It was 1988 and I had this pretty cool 1979 CJ7. I had pretty much made it tough, I thought, and had 8000 pound warn winches front and rear and a few frame mods to beef it up and a bigger electrical system and so on, but that was about it. Ok, well, one day one of the ranch hands got one of dad's John Deere combines stuck in one of the wet wheat fields as we were trying to get the fresh grain in and it had rained, and thus, the wet field.

Well, the only rig that we could get out to it was my Jeep so out we went with extra heavy cable and chain. We got to it and rigged up and I dead manned the Jeep to a huge, sound, sugar pine stump about 200 feet distant. Chained off I unspooled and got my 3 50 ton snatch blocks rigged and rigged off to the combine and was finally ready.

Dad was out there with me as we always did stuff together and he was more at times my best buddy, as well as my dear daddy. So, I had the controller for the winch in my hand and dad was over at the combine. I started to engage the winch and the line went taught.

Daddy then came over near me and we looked at each other and I engaged the winch again. Everything went very very taught now, and the sounds of strain were everywhere. I thought I might want to change something or back off and plan something else. I was thinking and doing some math on dynamics and load, etc....