CJ7 Stereo/Sound System

SKCrosby91

Hello all! I am fairly new to the whole Jeep life, but I finally got my 78 CJ7 mechanically sound and am now wanting to make it a little more enjoyable. What I want to do is install my own sound system. I've done one in every car I've owned and I don't think my Jeep should be any different. What I'm concerned about is since the stereo isn't a "factory" head unit and there is no wiring harness, I am going to have to wire it all up myself. Right now the wiring for the stereo is atrocious. I don't mind redoing it, but it will be a hassle nonetheless. Does anyone have any suggestions as to what kind of head unit and speakers do best in the elements? I live in AZ so I don't want them to go out after the heat gets to them. Also, any input or suggestions on how to wire this stuff would be phenomenal! Thanks in advance!

Look for marine units if you plan on running topless. Marine main units tend to be sealed (the front) and have a sheet of plastic protecting them from top drip behind the dash. This does not mean that they are water proof, though, as excess water WILL kill it, but at least they will last longer. As for the speakers, stay away from paper cones; go to polypropylene units, which will handle water a lot better. As far as speaker position, I run sound wedges between the rear fender well and the rollbar/seats that fit 9X6 speakers (this size will give you a bit of base sound) that I recommend. I also run modpods under the door frames for the front speakers, but this location is not ideal as the speakers tend to get covered in mud.