'88 YJ fuel pump issue

Tb80512

I'm new to the Jeep Owners family and have what may amount to a stupid question but here it goes. I bought a '88 Jeep YJ 4.2 6 cyl that sits on 35's. It's been a fun jeep for the last 2 summers but I've had issues this summer. I replaced the carter carb a while back and went with the weber setup. It ran great unitl here recently. If it sat for a couple days it wouldn't start. A little fuel down the carb and it would run great again and be fine until it sat a few days again. In my past experience (mostly mopar) that would point to a failing fuel manuel fuel pump. I discovered this jeep has both a manuel and electric fuel pump. The manuel on the block and the electric on the frame back at the tank. The electric runs and is hooked up to the oil pressure switch. I bypassed the manuel pump but that didn't keep it running once you drove it for a while. But with the return line on the filter at the carb, which I've never seen, I thought maybe just a regular fuel filter would be the answer. I haven't tried that yet because I'm still not understanding the whole manuel and electric fuel pump thing. Is this normal?? Or is this something the previous owner did for whatever reason. I was just going to replace the manuel pump but if I can bypass it I'd rather do that. Any suggestions on how/why it should be set up?

that's interesting! All electric fuel pumps I have seen from the factory were all in the fuel tank and not the frame rail. I suspect someone put it there for some reason. You may want to call a dealer or get a manual to see if indeed it came with two pumps and sounds like one of them may have went out. The carb may just need a good adjusting too.

That is quite the setup...... To the best of my knowledge, the 258 didn't come with an external electric fuel pump and certainly not with both electric and manual.