Identifying parts and pieces 258

Joseph.smith54

This thread may have been started before but I need some knowledge as to where some parts connect to and what some are.

First off is my carter yfa carb. I know one inlet goes to my fuel pump/ filter and not sure about the other. Where does it go?

Next, this little valve on the lower driver side of my engine. What is it and what connects to it?

Last one so far, what is the lever on the bottom rear of my exhaust manifold for?

Attachments

• image-3771612769.jpg
    image-3771612769.jpg
    557.3 KB · Views: 2,643
  • image-1302660846.jpg
    image-1302660846.jpg
    457 KB · Views: 530
  • image-3225270978.jpg
    image-3225270978.jpg
    510.5 KB · Views: 678

Although I am no pro and welcome the advice and help of anyone who has a 258 of your year with the same emmissions and fuel system , I'll post what I know. In your first photo , the open tube on the carburetor is the port that goes to the vapor line from the charcoal canister line out to feed vapor into the carb to burn off as fuel in the engine. Fuel systems from the gas cap forward are not vented and the vapor must be relieved from the system to avoid excess pressure . Kind of like the human body. If there is no canister , close it off. The spark plug being used as a plug to close off a vacuum leak , I believe that vacuum source should be used for a power brake booster if your jeep has power brakes. If not , I see why it's closed off. I think I also see a speedo connection coming from the tunnel forward to the engine side of the firewall .
Photo #2 ; I see an EGR valve which are connected to exhaust manifolds on in-line engines .