1979 CJ5 I'm new at this

1979CJ5

I have a 1979 CJ5. The roll bar is starting to rust out where it connects to the body. Most jeep parts can be found on lots of websites. However I've noticed factory style roll bars are hard to find. Other then Ebay I haven't found much in the way of kits or DYI sets on the market. As for fully assembled bars I haven't found any. Am I just looking in the wrong place?

Thanks,

ali

What area do you live in? Do you want a OEM style and an aftermarket full cage style? I have a lot of contacts, may be able to point you in the right direction.

The ones that mount to the floor behind the front seats are on the 80,s models. I believe 81 and up.

What area do you live in? Do you want a OEM style and an aftermarket full cage style? I have a lot of contacts, may be able to point you in the right direction.

I live in Michigan. Not to far from Grand Rapids.

Thanks again

The OEM roll bars are hard to find for 2 reasons, limited production and that the suck as roll bars and offer little to no protection. I understand if you want the stock appearence and I can appreciate that, but if safety is your concern, put in something far more substantial with solid A and B pillars that attach to the frame.

Welcome.

I agree that the OEM rollbars do more for looks than your safety. Check summit, jegs, racingjunk, and others for quality rollbar kits shipped to your door or a local speed shop or hotrod builder and have them make one for you.

The ones that mount to the floor behind the front seats are on the 80,s models. I believe 81 and up.