78 CJ5 Fuel and Temperature Guage Nightmares

Tison78_CJ5

Has anyone had problems with Fuel and Temperature gauges?
I have replaced both of mine three times.
Finally gave up and installed electronic meters in the speedometer case.
I am an electronic engineer, and after ripping the dash apart four times I gave up on the regular gauges.
I'm just curious if this is a design problem for my year of Jeep.

No idea. My 76 doesn't have originals and my 87 uses different type then the cjs

Glad I had two speedometers....
Got it ready to install the better looking face now.

Attachments

• Finished Almost.jpg
    Finished Almost.jpg
    574.6 KB · Views: 30

There's been more than a few write ups in the quirky gauge situation on these speedometer heads here's a couple;

Fuel and Temperature Gauges Troubleshooting 1972-1986 Jeep CJ's

Jeep CJ Gauge & Sender Diagnostics

and this one is the one that I used to get my gauges straight by John Strenk, a really good guy.

Jeep CJ Gauge & Sender Diagnostics
CJ Gauge Specification Chart
CJ Speedometer Gauge Quick Test
The new Gauge Page

all this info being said, my own experience was I found there was a couple of manufacturers of these gauges available in my area when I did mine. Primarlily the speedometer to dash to body tub to ground strap to negative battery terminal grounds are so prone to oxidation interference that I've come to suspecting ground issues before approaching anything else, especially in this PacNW climate. To complicate matters, twice the made in China gauges were failing until I found (by dumb luck) some N.O.S. made in the USA gauges and I've had no trouble since.

I agree on the China gauge, but I also bought some American built ones. They have started making the pivot for the pointer from nylon.
The heater wire inside will melt it.
I finally gave up, don't really like the idea of putting that much power to a full tank of gas.
Mine will now run with 1 volt to it, at 10 ma.