Engine Help for the not so mechanically inclined

pwheeze

Hello all,

I am new on here and new to the world of jeeps. I just purchased a 1948 Willys Flat Fender CJ2A. It is overall in pretty good condition physically, and mechanically speaking it doesn't seem too bad either.

One issue I am having is with turning it on (yes that seems like a pretty big deal.) I replaced the battery last week and also bought a re-manufactured starter for it. The engine in the Willy's is a Ford 302 Mustang that was rebuilt 5 years ago. I took off the old starter and put on the new one, but am having a hell of a time getting it to catch the fly wheel. It wants to turn on, but they aren't engaging.

I'm not very mechanically inclined, and I have limited capital because im still a college student (I also am a car salesman so I do have a little money). When I bought it, everything on it worked fine. But my friends are idiots and one of them turned the kill switch while it was running (yes, there is a weird kill switch function that I hope to take out sooner than later).

I'm planning to do a disc brake conversion over the winter or spring for the front end, and I plan to rhino line the interior as well (there is astro turf in the main part of the cabin which looks absurd).

if you have experience installing starters, especially without a lift, your advice would be much appreciated. I have an appointment with the local 4x4 shop to get it done in a week and a half but I really want to get it running sooner than later so I can hit some trails before the weather turns really bad (I'm in Colorado).

Thanks for all the help and I look forward to chatting with many of you.

I'm no Willys expert... But by chance are the teeth on the flywheel chews up or have a flat spot ? I had an old bronco with a 302 in it. Every once in a while when I parked it, the teeth on the flywheel would land on the flat spot. So when I turned the key, the starter would just scream from spinning.