Beginner's guidelines and pointers

EfromA

Hello, I am new to the world of Jeeps, and cars in general, actually. But I am seriously considering buying a Jeep. Some CJ5's are what I am looking at right now, but I would like to get some pointers from people who actually know what is going on.

Is there any model that is particularly reliable, has readily available and reasonably priced parts, and fair gas mileage?
I would prefer something 80's and before.
Are there any other things that I should know and consider when looking for a Jeep?
I am wanting something pretty practical, something to go to the store, drive to the community collage, ect...

I'm sorry if I sound a bit ridiculous, but I am willing to listen and learn.

Thanks!

Jeeps only seem to drop to a certain point in value, and then flatten out. What that means is a 10 year old Jeep is going to cost about the same as a 15-20 year old Jeep. So decide why it is you want a 1980's vintage Jeep. If you like the CJ look, by all means, go for it. If it is cost, shop hard and you will find a newer Jeep for about the same cost.

Look for upgrades, like wheels/tires, lifts, bumpers, lights, winches, and more. You can save a lot on upgrades if someone else put them on and is selling the Jeep Vs buying a plain Jeep and buying the stuff and installing it yourself or having it installed. Of course, if you buy it you get exactly what you want. So weigh the pros and cons and your budget.

I have a 2002 TJ Sahara. I have spent a lot on gears and lockers to make it as capable as a Rubicon. I'm there, but it would have cost less at the time to just have spent a few bucks more and bought a Rubicon (I bought my Jeep used, it was about 7 years old at the time).

Anyway, welcome to Jeeps.:welcome: There are few vehicles that are more fun or rewarding to own and drive than a Jeep.:driving: If you like the outdoors and backroads, you will love having a Jeep.

Good luck and post pictures of what you get.

Last edited: