Eric.Rogers

Hey guys, I am a newbie here and even tho I have owned my 81 CJ5 for a long time I am still a newbie at all the conversion type stuff you can do with these things. With that said please excuse my naivete lol
So I am looking for advice on what Chevy engine to put into my CJ5. I know I want to go EFI. I do take it out in the woods and wheel it so torque is a major consideration. But I also want to be able to pull my boat to the lake/coast with it (which my current 258 4.2L 6 just won't do). It IS a daily driver for me as well. I am not too concerned with fuel economy (it's a toy, right? lol)
A few specs that may help: I already have the Chevy SM465 transmission mated up to my 258. I am running the old stock Dana 300 xfer case and the stock axles and gearing. I am running 33" tires.
Any and all comments will be VERY much appreciated!

Eric

Hi eric, I have a 65chevy 327 in my cj5 with a car Muncie 4spd mated to a spicer18 tcase, so your conversion has been done many times, and has great aftermarket support. Im not very up on the more modern engines, so I couldn't tell you which one is better over another. Id go for a truck engine myself, as they were designed to work and haul, (torque). If you have the factory AMC20 rear axle you should at least get one piece axle shafts for it, the factory 2 piece design will not hold to the added power long IMO, and I have experience there. There are many here with far more knowledge on modern computer controlled engines than I, and am sure they will be along soon with more specific engine advise. :) happy jeepin