Will a windshield mounted light bar hinder my jeeps performance?

IwantToJeep

Hey everybody, Jeep noob here.
I'm about to install an AEV 2.5 in lift onto my 2013 JK Sport.
I also want to install a windshield mounted light bar (purely for aesthetics) but I've heard this can seriously hinder my Jeeps performance. I'll be running 35in AT tires with a stock 3.21 gear ratio.
Also this will be a dual purpose jeep.
Will this affect my driving?
Thanks

I'm not sure if it would hurt your performance. But they do make noise going down the road they whistle but that can be corrected I just fixed mine

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

your tire size will screw things up first 35's with the stock gear ratio will chew up all your torque and adding that light bar to it will make it worse, You need to regear that rig for the tires first, then the light bar will be negligible

^^^ what he said, I'll add you'll see a drop in gas mileage once you level it and add big tires, not to mention the gutless feel. Light bars look cool dude but I wouldn't own one unless I needed it. Put the money in an IRA.

The LED light bars don't stick up as high so you may consider those. I doubt the mileage decrease would be that much. They already get terrible mileage anyway.

it will be a noticeable drop. we took it off ours after 2 or 3 days because of how much noise and gas mileage loss. why go into single digit gas mileage just because you want your jeep to look like everyone else's jeep

I had no idea they were that bad on the mileage. I prefer just a couple spots mounted at the base of the windshield myself.

I had no idea they were that bad on the mileage. I prefer just a couple spots mounted at the base of the windshield myself.

I lost 1-2 mpg posting my KC's there.

Also a guy I worked with won a light bar rack so he filled it with 7 in light. That lasted 2 months doe to the mph loss.

Regards,
JPNinPA

Sent using TapTalk