Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  1. Camshaft pos sensor

    So I lifted my jeep have 35s and upgraded gears to 4.88. Since I got everything straight I keep getting a code when going highway speeds for about 20-30 minutes. It comes up as camshaft pos sensor bank B and another one saying torque request denied. Anyone know of any other people having this problem and any fixes? I changed one sensor and it still happened so then I put the old one back in and replaced the other one and it still happened. Idk what else it could be.

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Dayton Ohio Area
    Posts
    6,182

    Camshaft pos sensor

    There are 2 cam position sensors on that engine. Be sure to use OEM sensors. Check the wiring. Also reset the codes after replacing. If resetting doesn't work the there is a relearn procedure the dealer can do for the new CPS.


    There are a few threads on other forums on this. http://www.wranglerforum.com/f202/ne...3-1137978.html

    Regards,
    JPNinPA

    Sent using TapTalk
    Last edited by JPNinPA; 05-13-2017 at 11:58 PM.
    "Never look down on anybody unless you're helping him up" - Jesse Jackson

  3. #3

    Re: Camshaft pos sensor

    Ok which one is bank b?

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk

  4. #4

    Re: Camshaft pos sensor

    Post MY year engine etc.. I do not see those basics OR where are they listed
    Post ALL codes...

  5. #5

    Re: Camshaft pos sensor

    Codes aren't up right now. I cleared them so I wouldn't buck every time I let go of the gas and so that I had power when going through the gears.

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk

  6. #6

    Re: Camshaft pos sensor

    Quote Originally Posted by mmello13 View Post
    Codes aren't up right now. I cleared them so I wouldn't buck every time I let go of the gas and so that I had power when going through the gears.

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk
    What MY and engine?

    OK you cleared them use scanner and check "history" - codes likely stored there

  7. #7

    Re: Camshaft pos sensor

    Yea they still for one cycle so once you shut it off it's gone.

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Dayton Ohio Area
    Posts
    6,182

    Re: Camshaft pos sensor

    Quote Originally Posted by mmello13 View Post
    Ok which one is bank b?

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk
    I believe it is the drivers side.


    Regards,
    JPNinPA

    Sent using TapTalk
    "Never look down on anybody unless you're helping him up" - Jesse Jackson

  9. #9

    Re: Camshaft pos sensor

    That's what I thought. Changed it and nothing.

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk

  10. #10

    Re: Camshaft pos sensor

    guessing gets expensive - model year eng etc - has code reset?

    A code NEVER says change part - but parts store clerks do.

  11. #11

    Re: Camshaft pos sensor

    It's a 13 unlimited rubicon 3.6

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Dayton Ohio Area
    Posts
    6,182

    Camshaft pos sensor

    Quote Originally Posted by mmello13 View Post
    That's what I thought. Changed it and nothing.

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk
    Check the link. It indicates to inspect the wiring.

    Regards,
    JPNinPA

    Sent using TapTalk
    Last edited by JPNinPA; 05-15-2017 at 07:00 PM.
    "Never look down on anybody unless you're helping him up" - Jesse Jackson

  13. #13

    Re: Camshaft pos sensor

    Yea I did everything seems fine. But I'm not mechanic so maybe I missed something or maybe I traced the wrong wire. Haha. I traced both back to where I could access them.

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk

  14. #14

    Re: Camshaft pos sensor

    Quote Originally Posted by mmello13 View Post
    Yea I did everything seems fine. But I'm not mechanic so maybe I missed something or maybe I traced the wrong wire. Haha. I traced both back to where I could access them.

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk
    Really need code or codes....

  15. #15

    Re: Camshaft pos sensor

    Quote Originally Posted by k-2 View Post
    Really need code or codes....
    I'll get it next time it comes on.

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk

  16. #16

    Re: Camshaft pos sensor

    Quote Originally Posted by k-2 View Post
    Really need code or codes....
    Here's the codes. Came on again today coming back from Martha's Vineyard.

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk

  17. #17

    Re: Camshaft pos sensor

    that is bank 1 - passenger side sensor.
    check the connector - tight corrosion free ?

    your code reader says 7 codes - am wrong? post them BEFORE we can go on.

    PS- get sensors at jeep if you need to replace
    Attached Images Attached Images Camshaft pos sensor-jeep3.6lcmp1.jpg 

  18. #18

    Re: Camshaft pos sensor

    I just realized this - seeing superchips on code reader -
    PLEASE say the jeep does not have any aftermarket BS - reprograms 'tunes' miracle magnets etc

    Still wondering about missing codes 1of 7?

  19. #19

    Re: Camshaft pos sensor

    Quote Originally Posted by k-2 View Post
    I just realized this - seeing superchips on code reader -
    PLEASE say the jeep does not have any aftermarket BS - reprograms 'tunes' miracle magnets etc

    Still wondering about missing codes 1of 7?
    No other after market stuff aside from headlights and radio. And those are the other codes. I upgraded to LED's so that's why I have 4 codes for the headlight both low and high beams and the radio one just says lost comm with radio. If I was worried about the other codes I would have posted them. And yes when o took it out I made sure it was right and free of corrosion.

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk

  20. #20

    Re: Camshaft pos sensor

    Quote Originally Posted by mmello13 View Post
    No other after market stuff aside from headlights and radio. And those are the other codes. I upgraded to LED's so that's why I have 4 codes for the headlight both low and high beams and the radio one just says lost comm with radio. If I was worried about the other codes I would have posted them. And yes when o took it out I made sure it was right and free of corrosion.

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk
    Codes help paint the big picture. The cam sensor issue - The los of signal I think a new sensor was installed ?
    There is a strange notation I found in my notes - Try this add a bottle of RISOLONE oil detergent It will eliminate

    a possibility easier than checking it out thru inspection. As next would be wiring troubleshooting OHM cheking ec.

    You C code will reqire a scanner our shop snappy is not capable of that jeep diagnostic path - really integrated system YAW input ect - Suspect a dealer only - I would do other codes* as they may affect (ABS) module logic.

    *Meaning P and U codes
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Camshaft pos sensor-jeepc121c.jpg  

    Last edited by k-2; 05-17-2017 at 11:26 AM.

Page 1 of 2 12 Last

Similar Threads

  1. Camshaft synchronizer
    By Chris10 in forum Wrangler and CJ
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-01-2015, 10:18 PM
  2. 4.0 HO camshaft
    By Gregorypaul in forum Wrangler and CJ
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-09-2012, 01:17 PM
  3. Camshaft sensor bad
    By Stalefishsk8er in forum Cherokee, Commander, Wagoneer and Liberty
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-06-2011, 09:08 PM
  4. I have a problem with my camshaft position sensor
    By Indiowrangler in forum Wrangler and CJ
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-01-2011, 11:52 PM
  5. Camshaft Problems
    By tbs1015 in forum Wrangler and CJ
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-12-2010, 01:13 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Log in

Log in