Oil dipstick tube sheered off at block

danmck1120

2000 CJ sport. How do I get the small part that is still in the block out? Is dropping the oil pan the best method and will the exhaust have to be dropped as well? I am very new to jeeps. Also does anyone have a good idea on how to plug the hole for the time being to get it home?

You mean 2000 TJ

Dowel of wood to plug the hole. Cut it long so there is plenty to pull it out with.
Just be sure it to leave it in there.

From another forum:
11.00mm. Which is slightly less than 7/16" (11.11mm).

JPNinPA
Using Jeepz.com app

Last edited:
You mean 2000 TJ

Dowel of wood to plug the hole. Cut it long so there is plenty to pull it out with.
Just be sure it to leave it in there.

From another forum:
11.00mm. Which is slightly less than 7/16" (11.11mm).

JPNinPA
Using Jeepz.com app

Yes. I meant TJ. My autocorrect doesn't like my jeep I think. Any idea on how to get the leftover tube out of the block? I've only found one decent video on the TJ oil pan removal.. and the dropped/cut the exhaust and took off the starter.

While I've never done it on a jeep the tube isn't that hard to remove. If you can get visegrips on it you'd just wiggle [maybe tap with hammer] until it comes out. If there isn't enough left to get a hold of with pliers use an easy out.

or, one of those pipe expanders. stick the tool in and turn it till it expands enough to grab the piece in the block

While I've never done it on a jeep the tube isn't that hard to remove. If you can get visegrips on it you'd just wiggle [maybe tap with hammer] until it comes out. If there isn't enough left to get a hold of with pliers use an easy out.

Definitely not enough to get a hold of. It's flush.