Help please. I’m BRAND NEW to Jeeps!

Dom P.

I am a new, proud owner of a 1982 Jeep CJ-8. It has an inline 4cyl iron duke and manual transmission. I researched the vin on 3 different websites to find that the truck was originally an automatic.

That is about all I know about this truck. I am not familiar at all on Jeep lingo which is why it is difficult for me to find information on things I want to do to this thing. My main concern is swapping the motor which will require a new complete drive train. I found a 318 Magnum V8 out of a 90s Grand Cherokee, complete with harness, auto trans, and full time AWD transfer case. The price is unbeatable and the drive train has only about 40k on it. I need help finding information on axle work. I know nothing about gear ratios but I know I want to run 35”-37” tires. Leaf springs; does the axle determine whether I mount over or under? Drive shafts; with I have to go fully custom or is there an aftermarket option for this setup.

I would also like to know if anyone can identify the axles and transfer case that are currently on the truck and if they can work with a V8. I am assuming no because they are meant to be driven by a 4 cylinder.

The person selling my the drive train also said he has Dana 44s front and rear that will need to be re geared to match. Does that mean I need to match one to the other? What does it take to get these axles on the truck?

I am not afraid to do some fabrication and I am mechanically inclined to do most work myself aside from re gearing because I don’t want to be the one who fuses the grenade. I just signed up today and I am excited to be a part of this forum. Like I stated before, I am in uncharted territory and all your help will be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

IMG_2316.JPGIMG_2321.JPGIMG_2323.JPGIMG_2324.JPG

Here I have included pictures of the rear axle, front axle, and transfer case. I’m hoping someone can identify them. Thank you.

Sent from my iPhone using Jeepz.com mobile app