stalling yj

crzyalchemist

I have a 1990 4.2 L, stock carb. stalls when stopping and will not idle. runs great at speed just not at low speeds? any suggestions?

Re: Bent pressure plate finger & vibrating

try turning up your idle. the idle screw is the one connected to the throtle linkage. also look into adjusting your low speed fuel mixture. i beleive this mixture srew is the one closest to the driver side. ( there are two screws side by side..one is low speed mixture and one is high speed mixture.)

i am sure other here @ Jeepz.com will also be able to help you solve this carb prob. also try spraying a can of carb cleaner into her. the ventreral (sp?)tube can sometimes get clogged up.

ok i will try this tomorrow, one stupid question first. what is the venturi cluster? i am new at this first jeep and i love it just need to fix a few probs

crzyalchemist said:
ok i will try this tomorrow, one stupid question first. what is the venturi cluster? i am new at this first jeep and i love it just need to fix a few probs

I can't help you with the carb question, but welcome to Jeepz!

Welcome to jeepz. To answer your question in a round about way just open the top of the carb by removeing the breather. make a good map of where all the vacuume lines go to put them all back. Take the can of carb cleaner and spry into the top of the carb all of the little nooks and crannies and into all the ports holes and ect........ You are bound to get lucky that way.

In the end go ahead and get ready to spend the big bucks for a real carb. tug

ya im havin the same prob. The POS has been like that for a year now just get used to turning your foot sideways so you can hit the brake and the gas at the same time like me. My dad wants to see what rebuilding mine will do before we buy a new one so wish me luck t his weekend.

soft doors

hell i got gramps today in traffic doing that. i am witing to put an injection kit on after the first of the year