Quadratrac : Good or bad?

toyman

This is my first time posting on what appears to be a very good message board for a Jeep fanatic such as myself.

I've owned several CJs but have never owned one with the stock AMC automatic quadratrac. I've located an extremely clean bone stock*
1977 CJ 7 304 c.i. with 65000 actual miles that I'm considering purchasing. I need some expert advice on the duability of this driveline for sand duning, trail rides, some light rock climbing and lastly used limited for snow pushing with a 7 ft. plow.

*I was told it had an upgraded transfer case & front hub lockouts.

How can I tell if transfer case was indeed upgraded?

Is this a good driveline?????????

Also should I favor a fairly clean stock 94 Wrangler YJ with 4 Liter H.O. 5 sp. with 125000 miles instead of the CJ 7 for the same money instead???

Thanks for your input on this difficult decision I'm trying to make.

funny stuff...off topic

I have a quadratrac. I don't think too many on this board do. They are also common on the full size jeeps and trucks made between 73 and 79. You can find info on these Jeeps at ifsja.org. I have posed as a wagoneer owner on that board before for help. 8)

The quadratrac was one of the first full time 4wd transfer cases out there. There is what is basically a limited slip differential that joins the front and rear driveshafts. It has a dubious reputation for several reasons. From what I have read: Other full time 4 cases had made a bad first impression. Most cases were gear driven, and this was chain driven. Most had tough steel cases, and this was aluminum. These things gave the impression of weakness, but modern transfer cases are built this way. And the worst of all, it was picky about fluid. You had to have a special jeep approved fluid or it wouldn't work right. If given the right fluid, it worked well. Here is an article that I had bookmarked.
http://www.jpmagazine.com/techarticles/23658/