Engine noise after replacing spark plugs.

TrailRatedRN

After replacing the spark plugs, I was getting a #5 misfire on the check engine reading. Drove back to the store, exchanged plug & placed the new one while in the parking lot. As soon as I started the engine, I began to hear a sound near the rear passenger of the engine. Sounded like a faint marraca shaking, or maybe someone going "shh, shh, shh, shh" really fast. The sound became faster with increased RPM. No check engine light. I decided to drive home, approx 5 miles from the store. When I got maybe 2 miles away, and at 45 mph, I heard a loud pop, like a balloon busting, and now the sound is amplified by 2,000 times. It's horrid. The engine still runs and accelerates. I coasted the rest of the way home, gentle as possible on the accelerator.

I have 06 LJ, I6, 4.0, automatic. I was just doing my 30,000 maintenance.
I am new to the engine world and don't know much, so talk in kindergarden terms here.

sounds like it could be an exhaust leak but I can't possible imagine why that would be happening after changing spark plugs. also was the pop you heard something like a backfire pop or something breaking pop?

If I had to choose between breaking and backfire, I would say backfire. It was very much like a balloon popping. Really, I would say, exactly like a balloon popping, only much louder. The current noise, the one that went from "shhh, shhh, shh" and is now amplified by 2,000, is certainly on the passenger side toward the rear, but I am not certain if it is toward the top or the bottom. It's so damn loud.

I was worried when you first posted that perhaps you had the wrong plugs and they popped the top of the piston or something similarly horrible. But from your description of the sound, it sounds like something blown in the exhaust system. Should be easy to find that. Gasket somewhere, perhaps?

Champion came pregaped @ 0.035. I do not have the tool to confirm that they r correct.