Inherited Dads 79 golden eagle need 4.2L schematics to start rebuild where to begin?

crimsonblood77

1979 Golden Eagle CJ5 Limited Edition. Original engine 304 V8 switched with a possible 258 AMC straight 6 1982 from Eagle car? Smog crap I don't understand on carb. this will be long term rebuild as I can afford it. good engine runs great after new fuel pump and all new hoses but I'm no mechanic but I can do it if I can see it. I need to see what this 4.2 looked like with everything hooked up is this a 4.2? Do I need FI or keep carb. In the end I want to trail ride with my girls and put it in the mud every chance I get but need it to be tip top dependable before I put it through too many paces. Any advice helps thanks ya'll I LOVE MY JEEP! :sawzall:

First off, welcome to Jeepz! You have entered into what I believe to be the very best Jeep enthusiast site around.

You may want to invest in three books that I can think of: 1. Haynes manual, 2. Chilton manual and 3. Jeep CJ Rebuilders Manual by Moses Ludel. All three can be found online. The Haynes and Chilton manuals can be found at most Automotive retail stores in addition. What one may be lacking, the others usually makeup for.

As for the emissions stuff, the best place to start is to indentify exactly which motor you have (i.e. year) by de-coding the nomenclature (build date code) on the passenger side of the engine block. You can research online to figure out the year it was built and what it was configured with originally. If you have not already, check what your States requirements are with regards to Vehicle Emissions (hope you’re not in CA?).

Enjoy!