steering geometry

XjShake

I know they say you want the track bar and the tie rod parallel but I don't really know which is which... yes I'm new to steering linkages and stuff so I don't know... anyways does this look ok or did I to to far with the drop pitman arm...

Attachments

• ForumRunner_20110311_094759.png
    ForumRunner_20110311_094759.png
    312.3 KB · Views: 805

Its a 90 YJ. It looks like the tie rod is the one that's off. Isn't that the only one that could be off? Since the track arm isn't adjustable, that what im assuming. But then again, I am an idiot. And anythings possible.

Ya it's the only one adjustable. This isn't super critical with leaf springs but if your having steering issues you need a drop pitman arm to get it right.

Thanx guys.. I haven't got to test it yet... I blew a transmission line when I went to test it... the pitman arm

Now when you say steering issues, what type are you talking about? Because the issues im having are mainly on the freeway, or anything above 50 mph. It just tends to wander a bit, or when a semi comes by, it can get a little squirrelly. I thought replacing all of the bushings, and making sure everything was torqued to specs would do the trick. It helped a little, but not very much. There is a few inches of play on either side of the steering wheel, before it goes into the knuckle. Does this mean I need to replace the knuckle, or is there some way of adjusting it?

No. Its before it goes into the steering knuckle. The bar going into it turns almost 45* before anything happens coming out the other end. I have no idea if this is normal or not. Its manual steering by the way. If that helps with the diagnosis.