Carburetor to buy

Tison78_CJ5

My carburetor is worn out. It is the original on my '78 CJ5 304.
I am building another 304 for my Jeep, but it won't be done for several months.
I have a high rise for it, no carb yet. It takes a 4 barrel.
The 304 in my Jeep is the motor craft, 2100, 2 bbl.
Can I purchase a 4 bbl. Holey, about a 500 cfm, and use it on my old engine?.
I want to keep from buying two carburetors, and be able to play during summer.

I am doing a rebuild on my motor craft, but last one only lasted 3 weeks.

Hey Tison,

If you look closely at the side of your 2100, it will have a small circle with a number engraved in the center. This is the venturi size, using the list below you can estimate the CFM it is currently set up for. I'm not an expert with Holley, but I believe you can jet them down a size or two.

.98=190
1.01=240
1.02=245
1.08=287
1.14=300
1.21=351
1.23=356
1.33=424

Well yesterday I rebuilt my distributor, the slinger weights were flopping around. I just knew I had found my problem.
Wrong, no change. Last night I pulled the carb off. Cleaned it completely, 3 cans of cleaner, and my Dremel with a wire brush. It looks new. Really I found no problem with it. I also replaced the fuel filter, and put a bottle of additive in the tank.
So far it is much better, but it still jumps some.
I am starting to think maybe bad gas?
Beats me, I'm going to put some miles on it, and see if it clears up.

I think you can use a 4 barrel carb on a two barrel intake if you use a adapter. I hear people don't care for the adapters though, more gaskets to seal.

I have been considering installing the high rise I have on it. That way I could put a 4 barrel on it. That would cure that problem. But I need to run down to my friends shop, and measure the height. I will not cut a hole in the original hood. So if it is too tall, I have to buy another hood to cut.