Dana 44 rear axle: bearing and seal replacement.

JeepNaked

Thought I would share with you all my adventure. I am a noob as far as mechanics go, so any insightful and constructive critisizm is welcome. If you see something im doing wrong, please dont just tell me, tell me why, and what i should have done or could have done different or easier. Enjoy! :-D

So i installed a new carrier in my rear diff a few weeks ago, and upon re-installing the driver side axle shaft managed to somehow tweak the seal. This resulted in a nasty smell, messy diff fluid flung everywhere by the tire, and an absolutly shredded bearing. I wish i could have gotten more pics of the whole process, but it never occurs to me, and when it does its at weird moments, or when i need to remember how something is set up or needs to be placed.

This is the website I referenced while doing this little project; http://www.stu-offroad.com/axle/d44/d44-1.htm

I started, of course, by putting the rear on jackstands, and removing the tire. I then removed the two bolts holding the break caliper on, set that as snug as the brake allowed and put the two bolts in a safe place. To remove the disk brake, there were two washer-like retainers on the lug bolt that needed to be removed. I pried up the little ears that keep it on with a flat tip screw driver, and set both aside to be re-used. After that, simply pull off the disk and set it aside. Next, i removed the 4 nuts holding the retaining plate that keeps the axle in (sorry, not as familiar with part names as i probably should be). Those are accessed through a hole in between the lug bolts. Set the nuts aside, and now remove the axle by sliding it out.