newbie clutch problems CJ7

05renegade

Ok, I'm new to having a clutch, I have an '82 CJ7 that has had numerous problems with the manual clutch linkage. This is the 3rd time that the bushing closest to the transmission has pulled out. I replaced the linkage bushing,boot, and locking pin again only to have it fail once again only this time the linkage didn't fix the problem. Now my transmission is in neutral whenever the jeep is running and i cannot put it in gear, however if the jeep is not running it feels as though I can go through all the gears. The clutch pedal is non-existent - no resistance at all. I noticed the clutch fork really didn't have any tension either and it appears that the tension spring is still attached. I have a transmission jack ready to pull the transmission and clutch, but I'm hoping that its something easier to fix. I've only had this jeep 1 year and really haven't had a chance to use it. Thank goodness this a toy and not my daily driver. Any help is appreciated. :?|

OK, first off, I'm no expert by any stretch of the imagination......but......I've driven\owned many manual transmissions along the way. That being said, it sounds to me like your problem is not in the linkage..........although I've never really experienced any linkage problems. " The clutch pedal is non-existent - no resistance at all."......sounds to me like you need to drop the transmission and replace the disc/pressure plate. Like I said, I'm no expert, but I've got 120K on my stock clutch ('03 Wrangler) and haven't had any problems yet (other that the pedal pulling out when it gets a notion!!!:shock::shock:). But the "pedal being non-existent" sounds like an internal problem to me.......for what it's worth.

That's kind of what I was thinking too. I think its time to learn about clutches!! It's also another excuse to buy more tools! Thanks for your input mud4feet!