Upgrading gears

jeephreak

So, I've got a 30 in the front and a 44 in the rear (that didn't sound right...) with 3.21 gears. I misread the sheet at the dealer and thought I had 3.73's. This doesn't matter since I've since put 35" shoes on the JK, and, without a surprise, it's lagging a little at times as a daily driver. I was pricing gears and it looks as if 4.56 or 4.88 would put me in the right range for my use. 4.56's are higher than the 4.88's (popular?) and installation looks to be around 2K at the local dealer... ouch. They're the closest 4X4 shop in the area besides another who has a bad rep. I've got some mechanical background in the marine arena so I don't think it's out of my grasp. Anyone do it themselves, and is it a grand undertaking? Like I said, it's my DD and I can't have it down past a weekend. Thanks in advance for the input.

Yes, I have re-built many of axles including the D30 and D44. It's not overly difficult, but it's extermely time consuming to do it correctly. Your largest purchase will be the speciality tools for the DIY'er. Some machine shops can move the bearings from the carriers (call around, not everyone does it), but it's likely for what two will axles will cost in sub-contracting that work you could buy your own bearing puller set and press. You will also need a couple of other tools as well, dail calipers, larger scokets and wrenches, race tool, etc. The other major expense will be a hydualic press to put the bearings back on.You can have it done at a machine shop however with Dana axles the shims are on the inside between the carrier and bearing so you'll need to remove the bearing several times during set up to get your depths right (you can also buy set up bearings that slide on and off or make your own buy honing out the old bearings that come off).