Buying a High mileage Jeep

sourceminer

Hello everyone I am a newbie looking into buying a 1994 YJ and would like to know some of the mechanical issues I will be up against being that it has 164,000 miles on it. Please let me know if there are any or what should look out for.

The Jeep itself was owned by a Student and is in very good shape. States he had the Exhaust manifold replaced because of a hole. I drove it and all gears shift no noises from coming from the transfer case transmission etc... It is a manual trans. seemed to be a little oil around the Bell housing but not dripping. I am buying it for 5000. I just want to know in the next 6 months what I may or should be saving up for. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

4 or 6 cylinder? Personally, I think both engines are very good as far as longevity, but people really rave about the I6 engines.

OK, sorry for the lack of info. Thanks for the quick replys as well! It is an I6 with new paint and new soft top. Blue Book gives me a 5000 dollar worth value for this Jeep.

RE: Short in Cig Lighter socket?

with that mileage i wouldn't spend more than $3000 no matter how nice it looks. in another 40,000 miles you will be replacing the rear main seal for starters (this is the source of the oil around the bell housing). When (if) was the clutch last replaced? You may be looking at a clutch before too long if it has not been touched recently.

A 94 YJ with that mileage has a $2800 trade in value (kbb.com). I'd base your purchase price on that, not resale value. add what a soft top & paint job would cost to trade in value... never pay resale value unless its mint.

just my .02 worth

RE: Stalls ,no spark

Thank you! great .02 worth. When I looked up Kbb.com I was looking at good condition with ac etc... and private seller cost. Not trade in value. How much do these items cost? Rear main seal, Clutch, etc...?

RE: Short in Cig Lighter socket?

sourceminer said: