1990 wrrangler YJ

tjlboise

Ok sooooo.... I wanna beef up my u joints driveline and axles. And install a winch. What are the best products and places to get these things?

Yeah actually the guy I bought my jeep from gave me a catalog from there. My problem is that there is too much to choose from. Im still learning about all of this so I was hoping to get some pointers on what would be a good start. Are most jeep parts like these pretty compatible with each other or do I need to get something specifically made for the YJ? How do I tell what kind of differentials I have? Transmission? Manual obviously but how do I tell the type?

Ok sooooo.... I wanna beef up my u joints driveline and axles. And install a winch. What are the best products and places to get these things?

how much do ya wanta spend ??????? to upgrade joints, i'd pull a set of shafts off a new jeep xj, or tj the joint will be bigger. you will be going from a 260 size to a bigger 297 size. or you could just jump into some new chromo axles $$$$$. as for the winch buy what you can aford. brand names do work better such as warn, but the smitty builts seem to do ok, just not as fast. as for places to shop 4wd.com is ok, bad service.. q-tech is my perfered place.

Yup. Buy good u joints. I prefer non greasable as they are stronger. I always had good luck with spicer joints. If you upgrade to bigger front axles get the spicer 760-x u joints. The are forged and way stronger than the 297. As for a winch. For an entry level reliable winch I had a warn m8000 never let me down. I am upgrading to a warn 9.5 xp. Welcome to jeepin. Have fun. It's an addiction.