'95 Wrangler 4-cylinder/5-speed. I'd like some advice on upgrades/parts/swaps...

Sine Deviance

Okay, so I'm still new to the world of YJ upgrades. I just had some general questions you guys might be able to help with :D

So far, I have these in mind:

*4.0L TB swap.
*Snorkel and SRI (I'll use the SRI for normal driving and swap it out with the snorkel when I hit the trails.)
*Electric fan conversion with switches/relays (I'm not crazy about mud and I want to get into riding rivers at Uwharrie cause it's cleaner, so this will be absolutely necessary. Plus the power gain will be welcome.)
*A complete performance exhaust system; I have no idea which one and I am fully open to suggestions :D I'd like to increase power through all RPM ranges if that's possible.

And here is what I want to be able to do with my YJ:

*Light trail duty (mostly dirt, a little mud here and there.)
*Light rock crawling.
*Vert climbing. I'll mostly be using 4WD Lo.
*River rides.

So yeah, basically I want my Jeep to be balanced and capable all-around. It doesn't need to excel at any particular task.

As far as upgrades go, that's all I really know. I frequently hear talk of swapping out the stock axles for Dana 44's or Ford 8.8's, but I must ask, what is the advantage to doing this? Is it just axle length or are these axles stronger?

Also, I'm pretty sure I have the AX-15 transmission. If I was thinking of swapping for something stronger would my best bet be the NV3500?

Is the stock transfer case decent or should I think about swapping it too?

Clutches. I want to get something stronger than stock, but not so heavy it'll kill the engine when I drive on the highway (keep in mind I'll be upgrading the engine a little too.)

Drivelines. I hear the stock drivelines aren't too strong. Any recommendations here?

And finally, any general engine/suspension/drivetrain parts you guys recommend that I didn't mention here?

Thanks!

Last edited: