Failed Emission test - 1988 Cherokee Pioneer

perkyb

I went to register my jeep today and I failed the emission test. It passed the equipment inspection and the Oxides of Nitrogren (NOX) test. It failed the Hydrocarbons and Carbon Monoxide tests however. The results are as follows:

HC: my truck = 3.16 standard = 3.00
CO: my truck = 65.98 standard = 25.00

Obviously the Carbon Monoxide is my biggest problem. Anyone know what the quickest and cheapest fix to this is?

Any help is greatly appreciated!

I went to register my jeep today and I failed the emission test. It passed the equipment inspection and the Oxides of Nitrogren (NOX) test. It failed the Hydrocarbons and Carbon Monoxide tests however. The results are as follows:

HC: my truck = 3.16 standard = 3.00
CO: my truck = 65.98 standard = 25.00

Obviously the Carbon Monoxide is my biggest problem. Anyone know what the quickest and cheapest fix to this is?

Any help is greatly appreciated!

I'm by no means an expert at this, but have had reasonable success. High CO is often a lean burn condition, combustion temperatures too high. The normal culprit is the O2 sensor, though there can be other causes. I usually do an injector (in the gas tank treatment) before a test and check my vacuum lines very closely. Many of the vacuum taps into the intake manifold are off center, meaning a leak can affect some cylinders more than others, that is bound to give some contradictory readings. The vacuum cannister and the vacuum line under the battery to the canister are likely trouble spots, though any of the vacuum lines are very old plastic or rubber that deteriorates over time or gets brittle with age. Higher idle isn't always an indicator of a vacuum leak, if the leak is small the IAC is going to correct. Checking the intake/exhaust bolts for tightness is often a good idea, use a torque wrench and be extremely careful of the studs at the ends of the manifold. Snapping one off can be the beginning of a very bad day.